Advanced search

Bangkok > Travel advice for Thailand >

Travel advice for Thailand

Last update: 13 August 2019 - still current

Security situation and recommendations


Luxembourg nationals residing or traveling in Thailand are invited to inform the Embassy of the Grand Duchy in Bangkok of their stay in the event of a crisis by sending an e-mail to:

In addition to dates and addresses in Thailand, it is necessary to provide the contact phone number(s) of people living in Thailand as well as in Luxembourg.


Formalities to enter and stay in Thailand


According to the Thai law in force, Luxembourgian tourists entering Thailand are exempt from the visa requirement for any stay inferior or equivalent to 30 days if they arrive by air, and to 15 days maximum if they arrive by land. For a permit stay of 15 or 30 days without a visa, it is possible to extend it for 7 days or 30 days respectively at an Immigration Office.

The visitor must hold a passport valid for at least 6 months from the date of entry into Thailand.

The visitor can stay of up to 90 days in any 6-month period from the date of first entry in the territory of the Kingdom of Thailand.

It is mandatory to obtain a visa for periods longer than 30 days. Tourist visas are issued by Thai embassies abroad. Their duration can not exceed 3 months. The length of stay mentioned on the visa is very often reduced to the crossing of the border by the immigration services. The maximum permitted date mentioned on the entry stamp and the number of entry(ies) mentioned should be carefully checked.


"Visa run"

In order to fight against illegal immigration, the Thai authorities have put in place a new set of measures against the "visa run". This practice is to stay beyond the maximum legal duration by leaving the kingdom to a neighboring country and returning with a new visa, and as many times as necessary. The "visa-runner" will be banned entry to the territory for a period of 1 to 10 years, and will be liable to a fine of THB500 per day of time exceeding his stay, which may amount to THB20,000 maximum.



Since March 20, 2016, the aliens overstaying in Thailand for more than 90 days will be banned from re-entering the country as follows:

I. In case of alien surrendering to the authorities
  II. In case of alien being arrested and prosecuted
Period of overstay   Period of banning from re-entering Thailand   Period of overstay   Period of banning from re-entering Thailand
——————————————   ——————————————   ——————————————   ——————————————
More than 90 days   1 year   Less than 1 year   5 years
More than 1 year   3 years   More than 1 year   10 years
More than 3 years   5 years        
More than 5 years   10 years

Prohibited products on arrival in Thailand


Before entering Thai territory, please make sure you do not carry:

-      Prohibited goods on arrival *, including electronic cigarettes;

-      controlled or conditional products;

-      products of taxable taxes or be under under rights on-duty forward tax products;

-      products that are not in the duty-free category;

-      narcotics (beyond a 30-day use) * and/or prohibited drugs.

The importation or possession of electronic cigarettes is punishable by up to 4 years in prison.

** Authorization to request in English, at least 2 weeks prior to departure date, by sending an e-mail to the Narcotics Control Division / Food and Drug Administration, Ministry of Public Health:

Additional information on health products can be found on the relevant page of the Thai Ministry of Public Health .

Additional information on the general customs rules for Bangkok airport is available on Suvarnabhumi airport website .


Armed insurrection in the Southernmost part of the country

There has been a long-standing armed uprising in the four provinces of the far south of Thailand - Narathiwat, Pattani, Songhkla and Yala - where attacks and incidents are frequent. See the map below.

Carte provinces musulmanes du sud


Travel advice on other sites

Travel advice on Thailand can also be found on the website of the Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs , as well as on the following links:
Austria Belgium France
Germany United Kingdom Switzerland